My Name is Memory

my name is memory

 

MY NAME IS MEMORY – ANN BRASHARES

Published by RIVERHEAD BOOKS –

3 out of 5 stars

A little late with this review – it was realised in 2011

I love Ann Brashares and so I wanted to love this. I didn’t really read the blurb and was quite surprised when the main character was a male – an interesting POV, but it made it a little difficult for me to identify him.

Daniel is blessed (or cursed) with memory – he remembers every life he’s ever lived, few have been happy and he’s spent them all looking for Sophia. Daniel believes Sophia is his true love, he’s met her in many lives but they have never been able to make it work, sometimes she was older than him, others he older than her. Its a fairly tragic tale. Then he meets Lucy – she is sophia (or sophia is lucy..) and they’re the same age, everything should line up perfectly. Except she doesn’t remember him. This of course leads to misunderstandings, near misses, long lustful looks and an awful lot of stalker like behaviour.  There’s plenty of drama curtesy of a bad guy (no spoilers as to who that might be!) but its a little rushed at the end, some books allow everything to fall into place, MNIM just pushed it forward a little.

I liked the premise of the book, but the jumping from present day to past to years on in the present got a little confusing. Daniel’s obsession with Sofia was a little weird, calling her the same name in every lifetime would have really annoyed me (if I was her!). Daniel was incredibly selfish and shallow, Lucy was a bit wet for me, there was little depth to her.

It was an ok read, I got through it quickly but it was missing Brashares magic, I’m not sure why, but I wouldn’t rush out to buy another in the series

Leave a Reply

