Bloodlines: The Heart of War

heart

Bloodlines: The Heart of War by M Zachary Sherman

Published by Capstone Young Readers

3 out of 5 stars

Released: 1st Feb 2013

Format: EGally (available to preorder in paperback here)
Let me start by saying this request for an eGalley was a total ‘cover sale’ I couldn’t resist what looked to be an awesome cover, and so figured I’d request it and see what it was like. So I knew I wasn’t the usual demographic (being neither young nor a boy) but I can read and enjoy most things, so went in open minded.

There are seven books in the Bloodlines range, Heart of War brings them all together in one one volume that follows the military family, the Donovans through the years from WW2 to present day. Each book follows one Donovan through their trials and tribulations, and gets down to the nitty gritty of what war is really like.

The books are aimed at younger readers, and the style reflects this, so it was an easy, fast read for me, however I do question the age group its aimed at, the book hides none of the nasty side of war, and whilst I have no objections to my seven year old learning about war, they were a little too realistic for me. There is also the question of how much detail there is about weapons, yes they are part of war, but I don’t know that I need to know the specifics of every toy the Donovan’s play with. Few of the leads were likeable for me, I felt they were a little false, and less warm and relatable, but thats perhaps because they are military, not every day joe blogs like me. I did ask my son, and he said he wanted detail in a book, otherwise it was ‘boring’ so maybe thats the key – boys love it, girls not so much (for that I give it 3 stars)

Over all a good read for an older-young reader (I’d say 10-12 years really) and any boy that loves war type games will like this. I didn’t enjoy it as such, a classic ‘you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover’ but I’m glad I read it, and I am sure the market is there for the right aged readers.

ARC/eGalley kindly provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest and fair review

Leave a Reply

