Wicked Kiss

10346185

 

Wicked Kiss (Nightwatchers 2) by Michelle Rowen

Published by Mira Ink

2.5 out of 5 stars

Format: egalley (available from March 1 in paperback and ebook – here)

 

***This is book 2 in the Nightwatchers series, there will be book 1 spoilers***

Wicked Kiss picks up pretty much straight off where Dark Kiss left off, Carly is gone, Samantha’s still a grey and Stephen has her soul. Bishop is still all dark and broody,  and now there’s a new angel to contend with, sent down to see what was taking so long with the grey clean up, but Samantha suspects there is more to her plans here than meets the eye. Oh and Samantha still has all the weird juju from her mixed up parents, and can steal glimpses into peoples thoughts and memories, as well as seeing through their eyes. The grey problem is getting worse, they are changing and Samantha is starting to get hungry, all the time….

I didn’t mind Dark Kiss, it was ok, nothing overly special but I honestly don’t know what to think about Wicked Kiss. It took a long time to read, I wasn’t looking forward to getting back into the story world, it was dragging and non-inspiring. I finished a few days ago and still don’t really have any opinion on it at all. Was it good? not really. Bad? nope. Just OK.

I don’t really know what the point of the book was in all honesty, it felt set up, the teen angst was on a level not seen since ms Swan and the dark and broody love will-they-wont-they interest with a secret past is a tired formula, and nothing new is added to it. Oh lets add a third party in, and see how that goes……zzzzzzz

The struggle Samantha has with her inner grey was slightly more interesting, but only slightly, she’s more concerned with finding out Bishop’s secret (why? why not just leave it be), when she really should be trying not to suck the souls out of her class mates. There is drama and some suspense towards the second half, but again there is nothing that you think *OMG thats like SOOOO original*

The writing style was ok, as I said I didn’t get drawn in, in fact I avoided reading as it didn’t call to me, whereas other books can be read in one sitting, I got bored here.

As I said I don’t really know what I did and didn’t like about the book, I’ve debated between a 2 and a 3 star review, settling on a 2.5, as just like the book its straight down the middle. Not a book I will remember in a few months to come, probably a book I’ll end up buying because the cover looks good, not realizing I’ve already read it, then I’ll be disappointed again.

 

ARC/eGalley kindly provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

