Blaze

13345957

Blaze (Or Love In the Time of Supervillians) by Laurie Boyle Compton

Published by Sourcebooks Fire

3 out of 5 Stars

Format: eGalley/ARC (Available now in a variety of formats)

I’m really in a reading slump, there are so many meh books out there (and they all seem to to be in my to read pile). I pick a book that I think I’ll like and I don’t, so I went for one I wasn’t sure about (Blaze) and hoped for the best. Did it work? Well I’m still in the slump, so make of that what you will.

Blaze is a bit of a loner, a normal kid thats stuck ferrying her adolescent brother and his friends around, she’s a comic geek and spends her life with her head in the clouds dreaming about her alter ego ‘Blaze Goddess’ (which btw is a crap superhero name). She’s in love with her brothers soccer coach (Mark) and after an incredibly predictable and rather insulting to the reader, encounter with him, she goes on a voyage of self discovery and all that crap.

I know it may seem like I’m about to rip Compton and Blaze a new one, but I’m not. If the book had arrived for me to read outside of my book slump, i’d of though it a bit silly, but sweet in a pre-teen way. So I’m going with that.

Blaze is nothing we haven’t seen before, the superhero obsession is a result of her father leaving when she was young and her trying to reconnect with him (and failing), it gets rather annoying, every other sentence is related to superheros and its just a bit much. Her brother is sweet, and caring, and the relationship between the two is a saving grace for the book. The other winning aspect is that I’ve found out I’m not the only person in the world to play ‘cows’ (although I call it the farm animal game!) and have added the graveyard twist to my rules (but haven’t told my son yet – I’ll spring it on him when I’m next losing). Like I said, the book is predictable, and the whole Mark thing is an insult to the reader, at least provide us with something original to get mad about. What happens after mark is, whilst still predictable, a fun read, Blaze’s relationship with ‘comic book guy’ is sweet, but the whole post-mark scandal is a little far fetched. The final gripe I have is the trucker network, I have no idea if something like that really exists but what trucker is HONESTLY going to knock on the window of care where they know a teen girl is asleep (and alone), and if they do, then what sort of example is the book setting when Blaze just trots off to breakfast with them? Compton needs to remember her audience, and running off with truckers  (male or female) or any individual you don’t know IS NOT A GOOD IDEA.

Over all an easy, light read, once again its nothing special, it hasn’t got me out of my slump and in all honesty I’m glad I didn’t pay for it. I expected more, it failed to deliver.

ARC/Egally kindly provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for a fair and honest review.

2 thoughts on “Blaze

  1. I think I’ll still read this one but I’m going to put it near the bottom of my TBR list. Thanks for the heads up about how predictable the story is. I also hate when every other sentence has a reference to something. So annoying. Plus, Blaze Goddess IS a crappy hero name! I hope you get out of your reading slump soon!
    Great review.

    • Yea, I’d still read it. Like I said had I not been in a slump I probably would have had a bit more time for it. It’s a sweet story, and what I would consider a holiday/vacation read 🙂

Leave a Reply

