The Murder Complex

murder

The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex 1) by Lindsay Cummings

 Published by Greenwillow/Harper Collin

3.5 of 5 stars

format: egalley (Available June 2014)

There is a lot of buzz about the murder complex, a story about a futuristic wold where there is no illness, no death so population booms. The only thing keeping populations under control is the murders, crime and murder is rife and everyone knows that it could happen to any one of them, at any time. Meadow is 15 and has been trained by her father to survive, who goes into testing for a role within the governing organisation, but to get the job she has to do the unthinkable. Once she’s in her new role things get worse, she meets Zephyr, a ward of the state who appears to be unimportant, but who has more influence on her life than either one of them realise until its almost too late.

A fast pace, gory and dark book, the MC is what some would term a ‘gripping read’ and I did enjoy the book, but I’m not sure why! The story was good, not great, the writing the same – there was nothing spectacular about the book. It was very gritty and I can see the direction Cummings was headed for but it just didn’t make it for me, it felt to TEEN for me, which a good YA avoids.

I’m glad I read it, and there was nothing wrong with the book, but i found that when I picked my reader up to resume the story I had to think hard about what had happened, what the plot was so far and what I expected next. It was almost like I’d forgotten the story so far, which is strange. I love books that invade my non-reading world, that I think back to when I’m in real life, and the MC didn’t do that for me.

I’d recommend it as a read for those who are between books, but not as a must read, there is promise there and I’d consider reading a second book, but my expectations would be lower.

*** This egalley was kindly provided by the publisher and edelweiss in exchange for a fair and honest review ***

Leave a Reply

